Find a back issue

Eric Nadel Honored at National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.—Eric Nadel the voice of the Texas Rangers for the past 35 years, was honored with the Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame. The ceremony took place this afternoon at Doubleday Field. Nadel was joined on stage by Roger Angell, the winner of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America’s J.G. Taylor Spink Award. Joe Garagiola, winner of the 2014 Buck O’Neil Award, accepted his award by video.

(Photography by Nancy Nichols)

Nadel thanked his friends and family and former broadcasting partners, three– Jon Miller, Brad Sham, and Vince Cotroneo–traveled to support Nadel. For more on this weekend’s events, check out DMN baseball columnist, Evan Grant’s, story along with a transcription of Nadel’s speech.

Nadel congratulates New Yorker columnist, Roger Angell, along with Dave Winfield, Bert Blyleven, and Eddie Murray. (Photography by Nancy Nichols)